Ref# 2747
Western Indian Ocean Coastal Challenge (WIOCC)
Comoros, France-Réunion, Kenya, Madagascar, Mauritius, Mozambique, Seychelles, Tanzania and Zanzibar; European Union; Indian Ocean Commission (IOC); UNEP Nairobi Convention Secretariat; Secretariat of the Convention on Biological Diversity; Global Island Partnership (GLISPA); Western Indian Ocean Consortium (WIO-C) including the WCS, IUCN, WWF, WIOMSA, CORDIO, IOC-Indian Ocean Commission, NEPAD and the IOC UNESC
Progress reports/updates
Deliverable Date
Mobilization of WIO country level engagement in support of Nairobi Convention
Type Details
Financing (in USD) Received by the EU and supported by the IOC ISLANDS project to support mobilization of WIO country level engagement.
Staff / Technical expertise Provided by the WIO-C to support synergy in programmes of work on marine and coastal ecosystem management and promote knowledge sharing.
Other, please specify GLISPA will promote the WIO-CC.
Objective & Description
The WIOCC is a country led partnership that promotes actions for climate resilient development that achieves effective conservation of biodiversity, enhanced livelihood and economies for greater social security among coastal communities. The WIOCC mobilises the political, financial and technical commitment at national and regional levels by inspiring leadership and facilitating collaboration towards a shared, long-term vision.
Governance & Coordination Mechanisms
The Western Indian Ocean Coastal Challenge will be led by the Republic of Seychelles. The WIOCC will be a strong and vocal partnership of WIO island and coastal countries and stakeholders, working together to build and implement climate-resilient development options and strategies to achieve a balance between enhanced coastal livelihoods and economies and effective conservation of biodiversity. It consists of a partnership of the WIOCC country focal points, representatives from each of the member countries of the WIO countries including Comoros, France-Reunion, Kenya, Madagascar, Mauritius, Mozambique, Seychelles, Tanzania and Zanzibar. Each country who formally joins the WIOCC will announce specific targeted national commitments that will contribute to achieving the vision of the WIOCC. The WIOCC countries are supported the WIOCC technical support team, the Consortium of Coastal and Marine Ecosystems in the Western Indian Ocean (WIO-C). The WIO-C is a group of NGOs in partnership with Inter-governmental organisations that support synergy in programmes of work on marine and coastal ecosystem management and promote knowledge sharing.
Implementation Methodologies
This partnership will be achieved through:
- Formulate stronger political commitment
- Engage more effectively and obtain ownership by the stakeholders
- Set up sustainable financing mechanisms to sustain action over time
- Provide technical and policy support
- Strengthen collaboration and broader experience sharing
- Make use of science based decision support and adequate knowledge management systems to guarantee proper information sharing
- Promote integrated management and ecosystem based approaches
- Address information needs and gaps through focused research
- Develop communication and social marketing activities and tools and
- Improve the overall capacity at multiple levels.
Arrangements for Capacity Building and Technology Transfer
Copyright 2016 United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs